Recent Updates

[06/09/2006] Etiam odio mi, suscipit et, rhoncus ac, lacinia, nisl. Aliquam gravida massa eu arcu. More…

[06/06/2006] Fusce mollis tristique sem. Sed eu eros imperdiet eros interdum blandit. Vivamus sagittis bibendum erat. Curabitur malesuada. More…

nfpa printer

NFPA 704 Color Diamond Reference

NFPA 704 diamond

One question people often have is concerning the NFPA 704 diamond marker. The marker is simple, with 4 color-coded regions that designate these various hazard levels:

From the NFPA website:

"The system is characterized by the "diamond shape" that is actually a "square-on-point" shape. It identifies the hazards of a material and the degree of severity of the health, flammability, and instability hazards. Hazard severity is indicated by a numerical rating that ranges from zero (0) indicating a minimal hazard, to four (4) indicating a severe hazard. The hazards are arranged spatially as follows: health at nine o'clock position, flammability at twelve o'clock position, and instability at three o'clock position. In addition to the spatial orientation that can be used to distinguish the hazards, they are also color-coded as follows: blue for health, red for flammability, and yellow for instability.

"The six o'clock position on the symbol represents special hazards and has a white background. The special hazards in use are W, which indicates unusual reactivity with water and is a caution about the use of water in either fire fighting or spill control response, and OX, which indicates that the material is an oxidizer."

Source: NFPA website on diamond symbol display